About Shelly Pavlić, BASc, MSW, RSW

Hello! My name is Shelly (she/her).

I’m an empathetic listener, strategic coach, systems thinker and community organizer. I’m also a Registered Social Worker and Psychotherapist.

I have extensive training in complex psychological health & wellness, having worked mostly in specialized, hospital-based mental health clinics for adults, young-adults and families. My journey has since expanded to include healthcare leadership support, burnout recovery and community engagement.

I am a Cognitive Behavioural Therapist (CBT), and integrate techniques from Mindfulness Therapy, Dialectical Behavioural Therapy (DBT), MultiSystemic Therapy (MST), Attachment & Family Systems theories, and trauma informed care. I earned my Bachelors of Art & Science from McMaster University, my Masters in Social Work from Wilfrid Laurier University for which I received Social Science and Humanities Research Council, SSHRC, recognition, and have extensive postgraduate training and clinical experience in community and hospital treatment.

There’s more to me, of course.

My family immigrated from Jamaica to Kitchener-Waterloo in the 70s related to political unrest in Jamaica. We were quickly ‘adopted’ by a loving townhouse neighbourhood and a small German-Baptist church (I grew up believing ‘kaffee und kuchen’ was the natural ending to every communion service. I still do!).

I’m an outdoor enthusiast and I love to bike. My biking addiction started in my 30s just as I was recovering from an illness that left me virtually bedridden for months and exhausted my endocrine system. My journey back to health was long and tedious, involving medical providers, family, friends, prayer and patience. During that time, I learned about the mind-body connection and also that weakness and dependence needn’t be feared. Biking reminds me of all that. You’ll find me cycling around Kitchener-Waterloo, spring, summer, fall and winter, sometimes on my own and sometimes belting out new French songs with my kiddo in tow.

My family lives in Kitchener. My Serbian last name is from my husband. We have chickens.

I think my kid is cool. He’d agree!

I’ve found Covid personally exhausting and can’t wait for this to be over.

Is there something else you’d like to know about me? Just ask.

I look forward to meeting you. To book your New Client Consult, email me or book online

The small print for those who like to know: I’m a member of the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers, OCSWSSW.